Who We Are

About Us

Our mission is to enhance our community by planning and producing an annual awards event that uniquely recognizes the performing arts, visual arts, and live music of the Omaha area. With all-star talent and red carpet prestige, the Omaha Entertainment and Arts Awards offers a memorable evening that thanks the artists who keep Omaha culture alive.


Years & Counting


Award Winners Annually


Artists Recognized Annually


Cost to Run Show

History in the Making

Today the OEAAs continue to thrive, in large part thanks to our all-volunteer Board of Directors, sponsors, and voting academy

A Bit of History

Over the Years



2006 marked the inaugural year for the Omaha Entertainment and Arts Awards. After months of collaboration and planning, the first show was hosted at the Holland Performing Arts Center in downtown Omaha on January 4, 2007. Filled nearly to capacity, the center hosted people connected with the Omaha entertainment industry.


Hall of Fame Awards

At the 3rd Annual Awards Show, we presented “Hall of Fame” Awards to Kent Bellows (Visual Arts), Charles Jones (Performing Arts), and Preston Love, Sr. (Music). It is the first and only time this category of awards has been presented.


Technical Awards

At the 9th Annual Awards Show, we presented separate “Technical Awards” for the first time ever. This special category recognized the behind-the-scenes artists that help make the magic happen, from prop design to choreography to sound engineering. We later integrated the technical awards into the 3 main categories (Live Music, Performing Arts, and Visual Arts).


Cultural Stewardship Award

At the 14th Annual Awards Ceremony, we were pleased to present the first-ever Cultural Stewardship Award to John Heaston in recognition of his 25 years covering local arts and culture as editor/publisher of The Reader.


First Virtual Ceremony

The 15th Annual Omaha Entertainment & Arts Awards was our first virtual show due to the pandemic, and was hosted on Facebook Live by Cameron Logsdon and Maria Corpuz. In addition to the traditional awards, we also celebrated the cross-over between the local arts and health care communities with a special public health theme.

Meet Our All-Volunteer

Board of Directors

Doug Meigs (President)
Aly Peeler (Vice President)
Maria Corpuz (Secretary)
Frank Hayes (Treasurer)

Hughston Walkinshaw
Julian Adair
Ang Bennett
Greg Brown
Trac Schacht

Dave Campbell
Lori Lynn Ahrends
Ben Matukewicz
Mark McGaugh
Robert Wagner

Former president Emily Cox and founding board member John Heaston

Email the Board

11 + 10 =