The Omaha Entertainment and Arts Awards (OEAA) is pleased to announce our 16th annual award winners. Thank you for joining us virtually, for the second year in a row, to recognize and celebrate local Omaha visual artists, performing artists, and musicians. Video of the live stream is available on YouTube and Facebook.

Trophies will be available for pickup at BFF Gallery (59th and Maple St. in Benson) during the week of February 28 leading up to March 4. The BFF Gallery will be open 2-6 p.m. Then, on Friday, March 4, the gallery will host a First Friday event from 5-9 p.m., with red carpet photography for all winners, nominees, and the general public. Photography by Heather Hooton is sponsored by the Fashion Guild and Fashion Arts Collective.

Lifetime Achievement (Visual Arts): Catherine Ferguson
Lifetime Achievement (Performing Arts): Dwayne Ibsen
Lifetime Achievement (Music): Thomas Wilkins
Cultural Stewardship: John McIntyre and Laura Vranes

Visual Arts

Outstanding Visual Artist: Sarah Rowe
Outstanding Emerging Visual Artist: Bekah Jerde
Outstanding New Media Artist: Joshua Foo
Outstanding 2-D Artist: Nancy Friedemann-Sanchez
Outstanding 3-D Artist: Pamela Conyers-Hinson
Outstanding Group Show: “The People, The Human Beings”, Generator Space, Curated by Nathaniel Ruleaux and The Unceded Artists Collective (featuring Sarah Rowe and Steve Tamayo)
Outstanding Solo Show: Nick Miller: “Zebra with a Sunburn”, Project Project
Outstanding 2-Person Show: Nancy Friedemann-Sánchez & Charley Friedman, Garden of the Zodiac Gallery
Outstanding Public Art: Metro ORBT Murals (ART + INFRASTRUCTURE): Omaha By Design, Weston Thomson & Betni Kalk (Celeste Butler, Pamela Conyers-Hinson, Dan Crane, Tyler Emery, Linda M. García, Rebecca Harrison, Gerard Pefung, Anthony Peña, Dany Reyes, Sarah Rowe, Patty Talbert, Steve Tamayo, Aaryon Bird Williams, Sandra Williams, Hugo Zamorano)
Outstanding Presentation in a Non-Traditional Format: Bart Vargas: Daily Drawings

Performing Arts

Outstanding Musical: Ain’t Misbehavin’, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Drama: Grounded, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Comedy: Temporary Insanity, Bellevue Little Theatre
Outstanding Premiere of a New, Original, Local Script: How to Build an Ark, Ellen Struve, The Rose Theater
Outstanding Director (Play): Jim McKain, Fully Committed, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Director (Musical): Kathy Tyree, Ain’t Misbehavin’, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Lead Actor (Play): Josh Peyton, Fully Committed, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Supporting Actor (Play): Dominique Morgan, For Black Trans Girls…A Choreo Poem, BLUEBARN Theatre
Outstanding Lead Actor (Musical): DJ Tyree, Ain’t Misbehavin’, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Supporting Actor (Musical): Evelyn Hill, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Rave On Productions
Outstanding Performance Poet: Zedeka Poindexter
Outstanding Dance Production: tbd. Dance Collective: Hidden Places, Making Space, Pavement
Outstanding Youth Performer: Alexandra Zaleski, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, Papillion La Vista Community Theatre
Outstanding Comedian: Cameron Logsdon
Outstanding Comedy Ensemble: Pandemic! @ The Disco
Outstanding Lighting Design: Homero Vela, Sunset to Starlight, BLUEBARN Theatre
Outstanding Prop Design: Jerry Murtaugh, The Addams Family, Ralston Community Theatre
Outstanding Scenic Design: Jason Jamerson, Unsex Me Here, Shakespeare, UNO Theatre
Outstanding Costume Design: Leah Skorupa-Mezger, The Addams Family, Ralston Community Theatre
Outstanding Sound Design: John Gibilisco & Jay Hanson, Grounded, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Choreographer: Debbie Massey-Schneweis, The Addams Family, Ralston Community Theatre
Outstanding Music Direction: Jim Boggess, Ain’t Misbehavin’, Omaha Community Playhouse


Outstanding Rock: Gallivant
Outstanding Hard Rock: Arson City
Outstanding Alternative/Indie: Those Far Out Arrows
Outstanding Metal: Devil In The Details
Outstanding DJ: Crabrangucci
Outstanding Americana/Folk: Matt Cox
Outstanding Country: Pony Creek
Outstanding R&B: Enjoli & Timeless
Outstanding Soul: Big Wade & Black Swan Theory
Outstanding Hip Hop/Rap: Marcey Yates
Outstanding Blues: The Rex Granite Band featuring Sarah Benck
Outstanding Jazz: David Hawkins
Outstanding Pop: The Rare Candies
Outstanding Progressive Rock/Experimental/EDM: Plack Blague
Outstanding Punk: No Thanks
Outstanding World: Edem Soul Music
Outstanding Cover Band: Tara Vaughan, “She Rocks”
Album of the Year: Marcey Yates & Xoboi, “Culxr House:Freedom Summer”
Artist of the Year: Hector Anchondo
Outstanding New Artist: Midwest Coast
Outstanding Recording Studio: Make Believe Studios
Outstanding Live Music Sound Engineer: Ian Aeillo