The Omaha Entertainment and Arts Awards is pleased to announced trophy winners for the 17th Annual OEAAs. The event on Sunday, Jan. 29 at the Hoff Family Arts and Culture Center in Council Bluffs was the nonprofit organization’s first in-person awards program since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic. Congrats to all of the nominees, and thanks for joining us! Video of the live stream is available on YouTube and Facebook.

“Celebrating the Stories We Tell & the Artists Who Tell Them” was the theme of the night. Performances included “If You Knew My Story” from the musical Bright Star (performed by Angela Jensen Frey and Boston Reid); comedian Cameron Logsdon; Vox Dance Collective; poet Fernando Antonio Montejano; and music by the Bel Canto Duo, Ione, and Alexis Arai y Su Grupo Latino.

Winners who did not pick up their trophies may contact the Hoff Center box office at to schedule a time to pick up trophies before the end of February. After which any uncollected trophies will be returned to the OEAA Board of Directors.

For a glimpse at the work of this year’s visual arts nominees, be sure to check out the OEAA Visual Arts Showcase at the Roberta and Bob Rogers Gallery through Feb. 4.

Trophy Winners

Lifetime Achievement, Music: Curly Martin
Lifetime Achievement, Performing Arts: Cork Ramer
Lifetime Achievement, Visual Art: Susan Knight
Cultural Stewardship: Alex Jochim and BFF Omaha

Visual Arts

Outstanding Visual Artist: Patty Talbert
Outstanding Emerging Visual Artist: Sophie Newell
Outstanding New Media Artist: Reagan D Pufall
Outstanding 2-D Artist: Shawnequa Linder
Outstanding 3-D Artist: Todd McCollister
Outstanding Group Show: I’ve Been Here Before: Emerging Artists Exhibition (Sophie Newell, Oria Simioni, Evan Stoler, Katie B. Temple, and Joseph Vavak) at Gallery 1516
Outstanding Solo Show: Neil Griess: Roam at Fred Simon Gallery
Outstanding 2-Person Show: Grounding (Sarah Rowe and Lydia Cheshewalla) at Generator Space
Outstanding Public Art: Black American Community Mural (Barber and South Omaha Mural Project) at 3003 Q St.
Outstanding Presentation in a Non-Traditional Format: Under Bridge Show (Dan Crane and Nick Clark) at 10th and Jones

Performing Arts

Outstanding Performance by Young Actor: Stella Clark-Kaczmarek as Jonas, The Giver, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Sound Design: John Gibilisco, Murder on the Orient Express, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Scenic Design: Jim Othuse, Murder on the Orient Express, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Prop Design: Amy Reiner, King Lear, BLUEBARN Theatre
Outstanding Music Direction: Matt McGuigan, Rock of Ages, Rave On Productions
Outstanding Lighting Design: Aja Jackson, Kinky Boots, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Costume Design: Leah Skorupa-Mezger, Something Rotten! Ralston Community Theatre
Outstanding Choreographer: Julian Adair, Bright Star, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Supporting Actor (Play): Nina Washington as Cheryl, Stick Fly, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Supporting Actor (Musical): Jon Flower as Nostradamus, Something Rotten! Ralston Community Theatre
Outstanding Premiere of a New, Original, Local Script: The Emperor and The Fool by Wai Yim, BLUEBARN Theatre
Outstanding Musical: Something Rotten! Ralston Community Theatre
Outstanding Local Performance Poet: Traci Schacht
Outstanding Local Dance Production: Nutcracker Delights, Ever After Productions
Outstanding Drama: King Lear, BLUEBARN Theatre
Outstanding Director (Play): Kathy Tyree, American Son, Benson Theatre
Outstanding Director (Musical): Kathy Tyree, The Color Purple, Omaha Community Playhouse
Outstanding Comedy Ensemble: Big Canvas
Outstanding Comedy: An Honest Man, Florentine Players
Outstanding Comedian: Cameron Logsdon
Outstanding Actor (Play): Thomas Becker as Lear, King Lear, BLUEBARN Theatre
Outstanding Actor (Musical): TammyRa’ Jackson as Celie, The Color Purple, Omaha Community Playhouse


Outstanding New Artist: Bel Canto Duo
Outstanding Rock: Names Without Numbers
Outstanding Hard Rock: Arson City
Outstanding Punk: BIB
Outstanding Metal: The Tale Untold
Outstanding Pop: Mad Darling
Outstanding Alternative/Indie: Oquoa
Outstanding DJ: Crabrangucci
Outstanding Americana/Folk: Matt Cox
Outstanding Country: Sack of Lions
Outstanding R&B: Enjoli & Timeless
Outstanding Soul: Josh Hoyer & Soul Colossal
Outstanding Hip-Hop: Marcey Yates
Outstanding Blues: Rex Granite Band ft. Sarah Benck
Outstanding Jazz: Mitch Towne
Outstanding Progressive Rock/Experimental/EDM: Plack Blague
Outstanding World: Edem
Outstanding Cover Band: Them Uke Boys
Outstanding Recording Studio: Make Believe Studios
Outstanding Sound Engineer: Ian Aeillo
Album of the Year: Hector Anchondo, “Let Loose Those Chains”
Artist of the Year: King ISO

The OEAAs would not be possible without support from the community and sponsors.

Title Sponsors
Hayes & Associates, LLC

Trophy Sponsor
Bergman Incentives

Gold Sponsors
Megan Hunt
Michael and Barbara Kelly

Show Sponsors
Blues Society of Omaha
Tim Daugherty
Denise and Robert Putman
Kent and Beth Rutz
Dickinson & Clark CPAs, PC

Media Sponsors
The Reader
Omaha Magazine
1st Sky Omaha

Venue Sponsors
Hoff Family Arts & Culture Center
Pottawattamie Arts, Culture & Entertainment (PACE)
Visual Arts Showcase: Roberta & Bob Rogers Gallery
Nominee Reveal: Benson Theatre

Marketing Sponsor
Say Hey There

Red Carpet Sponsors
Fashion Arts Collective
Fashion Guild